satin&atychiphobia

Today is an important day because it its the day that I take the first step in conquering my fear of failure and toward following my passion. I don’t know at what point in life it is that we decide or are made to believe that our passions are irrational, unattainable, unrealistic, abnormal, fat chances, and “just not how it works.” For me it has been this conditioning and my own insecurities that have kept me from whole- heartedly pursuing what I know I love. Don’t get me wrong I blame no one but my self for this delay, but it is helpful to reflect on what has gotten me to this point. The response you get from telling someone what you want to be is a lawyer (which I did for many years) brings much more validation than if you tell them you want to travel the world and share your sense of style with the masses. The first brings a look of ” wow this young lady is going to be something” while the latter brings a look of “poor thing, she has no goals, its going to be a rude awakening for her, what kind of stable career could she make doing that?” Such has been the case in my experience anyways, with the exception of my parents who have always told be that I can do and be anything I want. As a recent college grad (GO NOLES) I realized that I don’t want to spend my life building a career just to get me by, I want to build something I can call my own, but most of all I want to love it. I want to do something I care about. My name is Ebonee Gatlin and I love fashion. Welcome.

 That’s all I have for now! Be sure to check back Wednesday for another post and cheers to anyone else on the journey to conquering their fears.
Much love, Ebonee
Leave a Reply

